Impact of Music


image

I was walking down the road when I saw this group of little children trying to dance azonto when azonto was in vogue. I couldn’t help smiling. The thing was that these children didn’t learn it from their parents, they learnt it from watching the musicians dance and some would want to show off to their parents. That’s how strong the hold of music is on people. I realize that music stars are more popular than movie celebrities. I see movies and I don’t know the names of some actors but who cares but I remember someone talking about D’banj some years back and I said I didn’t know him and it came as a shocker to that person. I was even called a liar. When I got home I made deliberate effort to know him. When politicians are campaigning they look for the musicians, nobody came knocking on my door to say I see that you are a graduate and you have or possibly beat the minimum requirement of a second class, so I will pay you some 5 million naira to do an intelligible campaign. Who cares as long as I am not some music star.
Some words of Martin Luther King Jr is quoted below
“God has wrought many things out of oppression. He has endowed his creatures with the capacity to create—and from this capacity has flowed the sweet songs of sorrow and joy that have allowed man to cope with his environment and many different situations.

Jazz speaks for life. The Blues tell the story of life’s difficulties, and if you think for a moment, you will realize that they take the hardest realities of life and put them into music, only to come out with some new hope or sense of triumph.

This is triumphant music.

Modern jazz has continued in this tradition, singing the songs of a more complicated urban existence. When life itself offers no order and meaning, the musician creates an order and meaning from the sounds of the earth which flow through his instrument”.

That’s how much music can influence our society. In his time it was jazz now I want to believe it’s hip-hop. Since our music artist are so important in the morality and social wellbeing of our society they should make it their business to sing songs that edify and help the nation.

Most importantly is you, you can take your life in your hands and not in the hands of some musician out there who is more interested in making money than adding any value. Find the right mentors, listen to songs that will help your heart. Inspirational music as well as Christian artist are doing better this days, I will advise to busy yourself with those. Funny when singers disrespect the female gender and ironical how the females dance to it and sing it so how won’t the society believe it. The sequel depravity of this time is added by music. You listen to a music or watch music videos that turn on your secure desire and you would be contemplating rape without you knowing or deceiving and being deceived just to satisfy your desire. Music has its effect on your brain and nerves, find something that will add value to your brain.

Remember I’m here to reach out to you to encourage you to be a better person. Start listening to the right music.

Leave a Comment, Email is optional

