THE LIE (Series 4)


This is the eighth time Segun was calling her since her matriculation 10 days ago. Rose was beginning to enjoy the attention she was getting from Segun and it didn’t look harmful. Segun was smart and he flowed easily with her. He seemed to understand every subject she raised for discussion even things that pertained to law. He was like her dad. Rose felt like Segun was her dad’s son.

Today, he told her he would come check her in school. He said he had something to do in that area and when he is done he would drop by at her school. That piece of information got her so excited and she could not explain why.

Rose went to her wardrobe to look for one of her nicest gowns, tried on so many before she decided on the last gown her dad bought her before his death. It was one she cherished but above that it was one that accentuated her figure. It was a knee length pink flowered gown with some embroidery work in the chest region

*****

Segun was finally here. He was looking all handsome on his blue jeans with a stripped blue shirt. He wore a nice hair cut with his beards neatly shaped around his face.

Rose took Segun to a comfortable place around the lecture halls.. They sat on the chairs built under the tree. They were designed like a garden which students called lovers nest.

It looks like school is beginning to have its toll on you.

Well, it dawned on me that I am in the university now after my matric, when lectures and assignment took on such intensity that, you can only imagine half of it. Rose said smiling. Moreover, university is different from secondary school and the way to graduate well is to start well from day one.

That’s the way a smart girl talks. I love girls whose skulls are not empty and I dislike beauty without brains. Segun said as he smiled at her. He felt his smiles always worked magic on her and so being generous with it was the least he could do. He was beginning to enjoy all the attention he was getting from her.

The weather was gracious to them as it offered its gentle appeal to them on plate of a cool and bright day. The time went by and it began to feel to Rose like time had wings. She could only ask it not to take this new source of joy away like it took her dad using the cold arms of death as its weapon.

How was it like when you were in the university? The lectures, lecturers, assignment, seminars and you know all the rest. Rose said as she looked into Segun’s eyes.

Segun, smiled with his lips tilted to one side and it only accentuated his pink lips.
Studying engineering was fun for me but I had more fun in other things which also make up the university system. But I still graduated with a fair grade.
So that means university is not only about lectures and lecturers. I think I should skip all the other details and leave them for another day.

OK! Just tell me how you managed School work and fellowship. Rose said.

Rose, I think I should hit the road now before the traffic makes me its captive and I can’t but obey its commands.

You would understand how the system works as you move up the ladder.

They exchanged hugs as Segun took his leave and Rose headed to her hostels.

********

Segun looked at his phone as he was returning from the bathroom to see whose call he had missed half expecting it to be Rose calling to check on him if he had gotten home safely. He was smiling as he looked into his call log.

Bisola! He said with a little bit of surprise.

Why did Bisola call? Maybe Rose told her I checked her up. Let me call her back when I am ready to go to bed or let me do it now before I fall asleep he soliloquized. I will call her now and get over with it.

It was funny that Bisola’s call coincides with his visit to her sister. She hadn’t been told about his visit and their conversation was interesting. She was calling to check on him. He didn’t know why this was looking funny to him but he was enjoying it. He thought within himself as he lay on his bed. I think I like these two sisters, they know how to make a man’s life interesting and who wouldn’t like an interesting life?

4 thoughts on “THE LIE (Series 4)”

Leave a Comment, Email is optional

