THE LIE (Series 6)


Helen Alade was at home preparing for the return of two of her daughters from school. Rose was through with hundred level and Bisola was entering four hundred level. How she wished Samson was here to see how their daughters’ lives were taking shaped. They were beautiful and it was no secret that they were very attractive. When young men come knocking on her door for these girls, how was she going to handle it alone? Of a truth Samson’s family had been supportive but they were not her husband. She didn’t know how she was going to handle the role of the father and mother. God this is too ponderous for me. She didn’t know when she heaved out so loud neither was she aware that tears were flowing freely down her check. She had never envisaged this loneliness that Samson’s death had offered her freely with no price at all. She would give anything to have him by her side again. Just then her son’s image crossed her mind and she smiled. He was beginning to take the form of his father so much that she could almost call him her husband. This gave her some respite and gave her a feeling of nearness to her husband. Helen decided to lie down on the sofa to ease the pressure she was feeling on her waist and slowly she drifted into sleep.

Helen jacked out of sleep. She had a dream and it didn’t look good to her. She saw Bisola and Rose in an enclosed room fighting over a piece of rag; they both were bitter and were not ready to let go. Then she called out to them with the aim of calling them to order. Rose looked at her direction but Bisola would not. Rose finally left the rag and walked away sad without a word to either of them. All of a sudden, water filled the room and Bisola stood there until the water was up to her neck but by now it was late, she was beginning to drown and all her effort to rescue Bisola was abortive. In this struggle she woke up.

What could this mean? She asked herself.  she looked at the wall clock in the sitting room, it was 4:05 PM. Bisola would be here anytime from now. She got up and headed to the kitchen to prepare their dinner, Bisola’s favourite.

*********
Bisola and Ronke were headed to their hostel after writing their last paper when Bisola noticed a black SUV parked not too far from their hostel with someone that looked like Segun. As they draw closer she noticed it was Segun.

Ronke, see Segun standing beside the black SUV under the tree.
Is that the Segun you always talk about?

Yes! Bisola said without noticing the tremor in Ronke’s voice.

Are you sure he is the same family friend you talk about?

What sort of question is that? Bisola retorted

I’m sorry. I was just making sure you knew what you were talking about. But since you know, I will wait here while you go and say hello.

No need to wait Ronke. Go ahead; I will join in the hostel.

Segun was busy with his phone when Bisola stepped up beside him. I guess you are waiting for someone. She said in order to call his attention

Segun raised his head instinctively. Bisola, here you are. I was going to wait another fifteen minutes to dial your number. How was your exam? He asked as he rested his elbow on the SUV smiling down at her

It was great. And just like that I am a final year student.

Segun smiled. To mark your remarkable achievement, I want to take you out for a treat. And since you haven’t told me about any boyfriend, I believe I won’t be disturbing any earlier arrangement.

I am supposed to head home today and I have called mum to tell her I would be coming home today. Maybe I should tell her I would be hanging out with you and so would be coming home tomorrow.

No need for that Bisola. You would still be going home today. I will take you out for a while then drop you off at the nearest bus stop to your house and a taxi would take you home. I won’t keep you too long.

Ok! Then let me get my things from my hostel. Can you help my roommate to the gate where she would board a bus to her place?

If your roommate would not mind my help, Segun said.

Ronke are you ready? Bisola asked as she entered the room

This is the longest hello I have ever seen, this kind of hello that takes forever.

Ronke don’t be ridiculous. Anyway, hurry. He is waiting for us.

Ronke looked up in surprise. What for? Has your hello not ended?

It was me he came to see. He is taking me out to celebrate my transition from 300 level to 400 level and the success of all my papers. So I asked him to help you outside the gate.

Thank you but I will pass.

Ronke, why? It’s just to make things easier for you.

Bisola you are keeping the young man waiting. I can take care of myself. Just take care of yourself.

It’s also possible he wants to tell me how he feels about me today. Bisola said as if it was a knowledge that suddenly dawned on her and her excitement increased.

Bisola, be careful not to throw your pearl to the swine for not all that glitters is gold some are just cut out glass. You know I’m older and more experienced.

You sound like you ken something of Segun. Don’t worry I can take care of myself. I won’t just throw caution to the wind because I am head over heels. Ronke dearest, take care, I will call you to update you of our little outing

Ronke bit her lips as she watched Bisola move out with her things.
This is not happening to me again, not again; Segun dating another friend of mine. I hope I have not been jinxed with Segun. I ought to have graduated two years back but thanks to Segun I had to leave my school and I had to start all over. And tears streamed down her face as she thought of all that had happened.
Segun was dating her best friend Jumoke and he got her pregnant. Immediately he discovered Jumoke was pregnant he said he was no more interested. He had told Jumoke that if she wanted his attention she would have it but she knows what to do.

Ronke, I am pregnant and I have decided to get an abortion. Segun treats me like thrash right now and the only way I can have him back is to get an abortion. Jummy as she fondly called her friend told her one night. Jummy was not asking for her counsel but was telling her as a matter of information. She wished Jummy had never told her anything then because that knowledge changed her world. And when she was starting to pick up her life together, Segun enters it again.

Jummy finally went for an abortion. And who did she meet to help out with information and direction on who could handle it, the third in rank to a cult who was also a rival group to Segun’s cult? After the procedure she had rested at his place before he brought her to the hostel in the night between 7 and 8 PM. Segun had gotten wind of the information that his girl was in this guy’s place. He got his men together for that was enough ground for them to start another bloody war. It was then they knew that Segun was a cultist. Jumoke was caught in the gun fight that night and that was how her chapter was closed. Segun knew that I had knowledge of the whole incidence so I had to run before he came for my life. Jumoke’s death was difficult to get over and she had lived with the pain all this while.

And now that bastard shows up for my friend again. I won’t allow. I will think of a way of preventing another calamity without compromising my identity. I can’t tell Bisola this story; that would be putting both of us at risk.

Ronke laid her head on her pillow and cried all over for Jumoke and now for Bisola then sleep came and took her away graciously.

2 thoughts on “THE LIE (Series 6)”

Leave a Comment, Email is optional

