THE LIE (Series 7)


John chapter 2 verses 12 to 17 was where the Pastor that preached at the program a classmate of hers invited her to read from. After the pastor finished reading she found herself reading further to verse 24. 23 to 25 struck a strong cord in her.

Rose had finished her exams four days earlier but waited to attend a program organized by one of the fellowships in school a close colleague had invited her to. She called her mum to tell her that she would be staying back for the program and won’t be coming home as the day she had wanted to and her mum had told her that her coming will be a day after Bisola’s return.

 The program lasted for three days and this night was the last night.

She didn’t listen to much of what the preacher was saying.  What she had read caught her attention so much she couldn’t free herself of it. Why won’t Jesus commit Himself to this people even though they believed on Him? What made them different from His disciples that he committed Himself to even though they were also humans? How do I know when not to commit myself to people? How would I know a person can be trusted? Rose thought within her.

Rose returned to the hostel a little troubled and she couldn’t place her finger on what it was exactly, whether it was what she read or something more.

 

                                                                                ******

 

Rose was happy to be done with her first year and it ended better than she imagined. But she was having mixed feelings on her way home, maybe it is nostalgia, she told herself.

 A passenger behind her tapped her on the back, “Sisi” I want to come down.

She came back suddenly from her thought island and realised she was at her bus stop. Rose got down and went for her luggage at the trunk of the bus. She turned to see if she could ask anyone around to help her move it to the road side till she could flag down a taxi when a 5 feet 9 inches tall dark guy who looked like he was in his mid-twenties walked up to her.

Can I help you with your luggage? He asked her

Yes. You came just in time. Thank you!

When they were safely away from the road, he asked her where she was going? Omole estate, she answered.

You live there? He asked

Yes I do. Rose answered.

What street?

Adedoyin Street.

After a while of silence, she thought it wise to ask him where he was headed. Omole estate he answered.

She gave him the look of surprise, what street?

Two streets before yours, he answered expressionless.

I guess that means we would be boarding same taxi then.

If you are ok with it, he answered and smiled.

Just then she noticed a taxi coming which she flagged down before others waiting along the road got a hold on it.

 

                                                                                ******

Johnson! Johnson! Wake up! What is it?

Johnson woke up to see his wife on the bed and was grateful for that. Thank God it was his wife and not the monster running after him.

What was it that is making you shake so violently? Johnson’s wife asked.

It was a bad dream. Some people were trying to kill me but they didn’t succeed before you woke me up.

Nobody can kill you my husband, you know that. Is anything troubling your mind, because you have been having nightmares for the last week?  Is there anything you want me to know before we pray?

Women! He said angrily and got up from the bed. You can go ahead and pray for both us, I want some time alone. And he was out of the room.

What have I said now to elicit such response, she asked the almost empty room left with only one human form? She heaved and knelt down to pray.

 

                                                                                                *****

 

Rose felt at peace in the company of this stranger she that met only a while ago.

You seem far, a penny for your thought. He looked at her direction

We don’t spend penny in Nigeria so it won’t be of use, Rose said smiling

Ok! Smart one! What of its equivalent in naira?

My thoughts are too expensive for you to price them that low and why should a stranger care?

I’m sorry, forgive my manners. I am Adekola Cole, a student of Bowen University. I just finished my 300 level exams so I can say I’m a final year student now.  

I would say so much information for a stranger. I’m Rose Alade and my thoughts still remain in my custody.  Anyway, we are on your street now. I hope you enjoy your holiday.

 I know I would, just make sure you do the same. Am I permitted to visit when I can?

You are welcome except at odd hours.

It was nice to meet you Rose.

Rose smiled, “same here”. Bye

Adekola got off the taxi in front of his gate and Rose was grateful for the company.

She was home but something was not feeling right. Her unrest soon disappeared when she saw all her siblings being followed closely by her mum running to give her a warm welcome. She was home and she was also grateful for that.

2 thoughts on “THE LIE (Series 7)”

Leave a Comment, Email is optional

