THE LIE (Series 9)


It rained heavily all night. The weather was cold this morning, all Bisola wanted to do was to remain under the duvet for want of warmth instead she opened her eyes to see that it was 6:30am. She could hear the movements in the kitchen and could tell that it was Rose in the kitchen doing her chores.

Bisola picked up her phone to see if there was any missed call from Segun. I haven’t been able to reach Segun since yesterday, hope all is well?
She dialled it again and there was an answer on the other end.

“Hello”, this is Segun’s mother.

Good morning ma. This is Bisola Alade

My daughter, how are you?

I am fine ma. I have been trying to reach Segun, is all well with him?

Hmmm! My dear, Segun was beaten to stupor by some men two nights ago and he has been in the hospital since then. He is sleeping right now.

I didn’t have any knowledge of that, I will come to the hospital later in the day to see him.

OK my dear. Greet your mother and the rest of your siblings for me.
They will hear ma. Bye for now.

Segun turned his face to mother when he knew she had gotten off the phone.
“Who was that?”

Segun you are awake and you can talk! His mother went to his bed and placed her hands on his head. How do you feel this morning? Are you still hurting badly?

Mum! I am still in pain but it feels better. So, who was that?

It was Bisola, Alade’s first daughter.

What did she say?

She has been trying to reach you since yesterday but she would be coming in to check on you.

Where is dad?

He has gone to work.

Tell him I want to see him

I will call him immediately.

My sides really hurt. Mum, they almost killed me.

Thank God they didn’t succeed. You will soon be fine.

*******

Rose was getting done with the dishes by the time Bisola walked into the kitchen. The cooker was shining, the floor had been moped, all the cups placed on the rack and kettle was on fire for those who would want to take tea for breakfast.

Well done, you have done a nice job here. I just got sad news, Segun is in the hospital. His mother told me when I called Segun’s phone that he was attacked two nights ago by some thugs. I would be going there with mum if she is available and I guess you would want to come along.

Oh my God! Rose shouted with her mouth wide open. What did he do to warrant such treatment and where would he have gone in the night to encounter thugs? Why do bad things happen to good people?

What is that? Their mother was standing at the entrance to the kitchen. What made you scream? She was looking at Rose.

Mum! Its Segun, he is in the hospital, he was beaten up by some thugs two nights ago, Bisola said.

What?! I will speak with his mother right away.

******
Samson was sitting alone with his son in his ward. Segun had tactically sent his mother away to make some pepper soup for him because he felt his father would have gotten himself entangled in something that he would not have his wife know about.

Dad, those men that beat me up said they were sending a message to you through me, that you should know what was done to me is nothing compared to what they have in store for you if you don’t keep your end of the bargain. What did you get involved in?

Samson dropped his head as if feeling remorseful. Segun, its some work related stuff, just some criminals wanting me to cover their tracks. But no need to worry, I have it taken care of.

Dad! I don’t feel convinced; I feel you have crossed these people.

Segun I am sorry you had to be involved in this but what I told you is the truth.

That means you have reported this Case to the police.

I have it covered. Just get well soon so you can go to camp with this incoming batch.

The door to Segun’s room opened and they both turned to the direction of the door.

Who do I have here? Samson asked
Mrs Alade and her two beautiful daughters, you are welcome.

Good afternoon sir, Bisola and Rose greeted him and went to Segun’s bed.
How do you feel now? Rose asked

Segun looked from Bisola to Rose, it hurts badly but I feel better today.

Bisola saw the way Rose looked at Segun and became very angry. I would take care of this she said to herself.

I called you several times that evening, it didn’t go through and when it did you didn’t pick, I was feeling uneasy that day but I couldn’t place my hand on what it was. I am happy it didn’t lead to something worse. Rose said
Bisola took Segun’s hand and held it for a while not saying anything. Her phone rang, she looked at it and so it was Ronke. Excuse me, she said and went out to answer her phone.

Hello, Ronke. Sorry I didn’t call you as promised.
Bisola, hope you are good?
Yes I am, you?
I am good. I need to tell you something and it’s about Segun. You would need to be very careful with him.
How did you know Ronke? He is not looking fine at all after being beaten up. Can I call you later? I am in the hospital to see him and it won’t be polite to stay on the phone. Bye for now
Bisola returned to the room to see her mum by his bed side chatting with both father and son while Rose sat quietly.
This feels like a good omen, Bisola said.
I can see a good future for us, my mum would accept him and his father would love me for his son. Bisola thought, smiling broadly and Segun couldn’t help not noticing.

Leave a Comment, Email is optional

